Army National Guard Patches History

Page 6 of 6

Prior to 30 December 1983, the units described below were designated Headquarters and Headquarters Detachment Army National Guard.  Since 30 December 1983, these units have been re-designated Headquarters, State Area Command, Army National Guard.  Under the National Defense Act of 1916, the United States Army was organized into three components; the regular army, the reserves, and the national guard.P

Information extracted from the book "US ARMY PATCHES"  by Barry Jason Stein




Worn from:  29 November 1956 - Current.

Virginia was named in 1584 in honor of Queen Elizabeth of England, popularly called the "Virgin Queen," and was the first state to be colonized by early settlers who were loyal to England.  The sal-tire on the scarlet background refers to colonial heritage and further signifies Virginia's entry into the union as the tenth state.  The broken chain and the spear are adapted from the state seal.

Virgin Islands

Worn from:  16 May 1974 - Current.

The light blue and ultramarine blue represent the clear skies and waters of the Virgin Islands.  The three green triangles refer to the principal islands of Saint Thomas, Saint John, and Saint Croix.  The golden yellow disk with three radiating beams forms the initials "VI," for the Virgin Islands.


Worn from:  7 September 1952 - Current.

The design of the insignia, a raven and ducal coronet, is adapted from the coat of arms of George Washington.  The state of Washington, the forty-second state admitted to the union, was named in honor of George Washington, the nation's first president.

West Virginia

Worn from:  21 September 1950 - Current.

The ax and rifle crossed in saltire above a powder horn, adapted from the West Virginia state seal and flag, represent the early pioneer history of the state.


Worn from:  2 December 1952 - Current.

The badger, a fierce fighter and adapted from the state seal of Wisconsin, is representative of the official nickname the "Badger State."


Worn from:  2 March 1953 - Current.

The colors blue and gold refer to the fact that Wyoming was a part of the Louisiana Purchase and once belonged to France.  The horse and rider, having played a vital role in the settling, development, and defense of the state, are a well-known symbol of Wyoming.


Worn from:  24 October 1994 - Current.

Orange and white are the colors traditionally associated with signal units.  The demi-dragon alludes to the unit's area of operations in Worms, Germany.

Info&Data Sys Cmd

Worn from:  13 January 1968 - Current.

The checkered area consisting of yellow and black squares is symbolic of "Systematic Filing Data."  The two magnetic tape symbols, connected by a contour to form an infinity symbol, signify the infinite use of automated data processing for which USAIDSCOM stands.  The contrasted colors allude to the input and output or problem and solution of the known and unknown.

Defense Nuclear

Worn from:  20 January 1970 - 19 January 1972.

Re-designated:  Defense Nuclear Agency -- United States Army Element -- Second Design.  Worn from:  19 January 1972 - Current.

The shield and three arrows are taken from the emblem of the Defense Nuclear Agency.  The blue color is that used for the department of defense and the three golden yellow arrows refer to the army, navy, and air force.

Natl Scty Tng

Worn from:  3 January 1952.

While the design was approved, the unit was never organized.  The design is shield shaped, representing defense.  Red, white, and blue are the national colors, representing valor, purity, and vigilance.  The triangle, accepted symbol for civilian wear, is adapted from the reverse of the great seal of the United States.  The three arrows refer to the unified Armed Forces (army, navy, and air force).

Nat'l Scty Tng Corps

Worn from:  3 January 1952.

This design was made in prototype but rejected.  The great seal of the United States is shown with golden yellow in the center.